Cookies on the
NIAA website

Cookies are small text files held on your computer. They allow us to give you the best browsing experience possible and mean we can understand how you use our site. Some cookies may have already been set. You can delete and block the cookies but this may impair the functionality of the website. To find out more about the cookies, please see our privacy policy.

RCoA Payne Stafford Tan Award - An Award for Clinical Excellence

This award was originally established through the generosity of an American friend of the College, Mr Norman Knight, in honour of the medical careers of Professor James P Payne, Dr J A Timothy Stafford and Dr Oon Tan.

The aim of the prize is to mark excellence in clinical practice, teaching or research in anaesthesia, critical care or pain management. The award is open to any Fellow or Member of the College, and comprises a grant (to a maximum of £1,000) to be used for educational purposes such as attendance at a major conference or the purchase of educational materials.

The recipient will be expected to provide a short report outlining how the funds have been used.

To apply
Nominations are now invited for the 2017 award, and must be made by a Fellow or Member of the College. The nomination should be in the form of a letter outlining the particular merits of the individual nominated, and should be accompanied by a full curriculum vitae for that individual. Self nominations are also permitted.

Nominations should be sent by email to the NIAA Coordinator, Ms Pamela Hines. Hard copies should be posted to the address here.

All nominations must be received by the deadline 5pm on Friday 1 September 2017.

Please note that the assessment process can take up to three months from the deadline. Applications should be submitted for travel or projects that will be taking place from December 2017 onwards and unfortunately retrospective applications cannot be considered.

Please click here for details of past winners.